U.S. and Canada Join Forces to Set a New World Record for the Largest Ski and Largest Snowboard Lessons Ever Taught – Friday, January 6, 2017

 

CONTACT: Mary Jo Tarallo | mjt@learntoskiandsnowboard.org | 202-431-6950

 

December 2016 - Ski/snowboard areas in the U.S. and Canada are joining forces on Friday, January 6, 2017 in an effort to set a Guinness World Record for the largest ski and the largest snowboard lessons ever taught. Lessons will take place simultaneously in seven time zones from Alaska to Newfoundland. The effort is a collaboration between several snow sports associations in the U.S. and the Canadian Ski Council. It is the unofficial kick-off of the ninth annual Learn to Ski and Snowboard Month (January) in the U.S.

Lessons are geared toward beginners. Start time is 9 a.m. Alaska time; 10 a.m. Pacific time; 11 a.m. Mountain time; 12 noon Central time; 1 p.m. Eastern time; 2 p.m. Atlantic time; and 2:30 p.m. Newfoundland time. The last two times zones pertain to Canada-only. In most locations, lessons consist of a lift ticket, the lesson and rentals.

The Learn to Ski and Snowboard/Bring a Friend coalition and Snow Operating is coordinating host sites in the U.S. while the Canadian Ski Council is handling sites in Canada. Both countries have about the same number of host site as of early December. Nearly 80  sites are posted at www.learntoskiandsnowboard.org The Canadian Ski Council is posting its host sites in conjunction with its beginner-oriented program called Never Ever Days.

The Guinness Book of World Records requires a significant amount of documentation in order to verify whether or not a record is set, according to Hugh Reynolds, marketing director for Snow Operating and the mastermind behind the event. “We have had some experience with this in the past and we are working diligently with our partners to make sure that we have the documentation necessary to officially set a new record’” he said.

Most host sites will be charging a nominal fee for the experience and the opportunity to be part of history. Each host resort determines the parameters of its individual events.

The Learn to Ski and Snowboard/Bring a Friend initiative is designed to motivate newcomers to learn how to ski or snowboard by taking lessons from professional instructors. Snow Operating is the parent company for “terrain-based learning”, a concept and program that has been embraced by many ski/snowboard areas in the U.S. and Canada. 

Print Email